Fresh year and fresh start: Take 2

So, I made it to a certain number of weeks, quit blogging, and the weight came back.

But, I do know that it works, this logging thing.

And I just received 1,000 Gifts by e-gift (Thanks L!)  I set up this blog for a daily thankfulness.  And like the food photography, it got away from me.

So, what I’m doing is placing my last attempt (save my first few posts) in “draft” mode so they don’t appear here.

Clean slate as it were.

A lot has changed in 2012.  Promotion, new responsibilities at work, the guy who I dreamed blowing Chihuly glass because we visited the Delaware Art Museum with a group together is now my significant other.  I’ve cleaned out a lot of my basement, only to have it filled with things from my parent’s attic and basement.

I’ve tried to make things run smoother in my life:

  • I’ve tried to get organized with a daily declutter calendar, but it was sometimes geared to someone with kids or a larger home.
  • Renovated the master bathroom
  • I even made my own Freedom filer thing with my own labels and pretty much finished it for 2012, the twelve monthly files are upstairs in the office, the other stuff is in hall filing cabinet.  Hoping it works for 2013.
  • I had my Zappos account compromised, then bought a yubi key and subscribed to lastpass to fix the “I got compromised” problem for the long term. $12/year is not bad.

I made a half-hearted attempt at fitness:

  • I bought a fitbit ultra
  •  I lost a fitbit (several times and then it was gone for good when I lost it at work)
  • Joined earnd it and got some free swag.
  • Bought a bike in the heat of July  and need to ride it when it gets warmer.
  • Joined a gym in November, the SO is my gym partner, I haven’t had a gym buddy since Melissa S in my senior year of college.  We’re going to try to go a couple times a week after work.  We’ve been there together twice.

I’ve had some fun:

And I’ve neglected my writing and writing group.  Fridays nights are a treasure that I prefer to give the SO than use for myself, even if it is something I like to do.

I want to start being better with my free time, back to writing, back to thankfulness, and perhaps find a way to squeeze in the master’s program I’m considering for 2013 or another performance of the United Choirs of North Wilmington in late April.

But every new year is an arbitrary point in our revolution around the sun that, to everyone,  means a time to start over.

A time to be deliberate.

A fresh start.

Leave a Reply

